FPA provided engineering design services for the historic preservation and rehabilitation of Hunterdon County Bridge RQ-179, Stanton Station Road over the South Branch of the Raritan River in the Townships of Readington and Raritan. Our scope of work included survey & Right of Way; hands-on in-depth inspection; structural analysis; design report; traffic study; geotechnical engineering; bridge engineering; utility engineering; drainage analysis; permit application preparation; community involvement; Contract plans, specifications and cost estimate preparation for rehabilitation of this historic, one lane, 8-panel, pin-connected, thru-truss bridge constructed in 1880 by the Cleveland Bridge & Iron Co. identified as eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Structures. FPA conducted an in-depth structural inspection of the bridge in May 2011 to facilitate final design. The inspection team measured and recorded dimensions of all original and supplemental truss members, evaluated scour at the abutments and inspected the unique open-web fishbelly floorbeams.
The structural rehabilitation of this single-span, 103’ long and 17′ wide bridge consisted of both repairing and replacing existing structural members and components that had exhibited signs of severe deterioration and collision damage. The truss was dismantled on-site and transported to a fabrication facility, where repairs were performed. The work included complete replacement/replication of the lower chord eyebars, selected vertical and diagonal members, hanger assemblies, fish-belly floorbeams, stringers, lacing bars, blast cleaning and painting, deck, railings, deck joints and bearings. Rivet-connections were used for selected locations. Upon completion of repairs, the truss was transported back to the site and re-erected on reconstructed bridge seats and new bearings. Structural repairs were designed utilizing the PennDOT Bar 7 truss analysis software in order to increase the load rating capacity to carry AASHTO H20 live load. FPA performed services during construction. The construction was completed in 2014.
This project was awarded the 2015 Historic Preservation Award from the State Historic Preservation Office.